top of page
Search
  • Altrenegade

“A Shot In The Dark” Review

Updated: Jan 5, 2019

We Know Johns new record “A Shot In The Dark” our review!

We have known WKJ for a year or so now and we’ve seen them grow as a band and as artists themselves, however this album is next level amazing! We all know WKJ for their iconic twist on pop punk with the added of a trombone.

“A shot in the dark” contains 11 tracks of unique pop punk songs.

The first song that stands out is “Frodo” the first track on the album, it’s your classic pop punk sounding track with the added depth of the trombone which really makes it stand out, the song also includes strong vocals and a fast pace beat.

The second track on the album “Hazel Eyes” has a really catchy begining, really unique but still holding that pop punk vibe. The other thing I caught onto with this song is that the lead guitarist and drummer are really tallented! They bothe play really strong parts in this song and I really enjoyed listening to it.

The next song “Just Stay” caught me off guard as it is slower pace than the others with captivating lyrics.

My personal favourite from the album is “Falling To The Floor” I cant pin point one major factor that why this is my favourite but that what makes a song amazing, it includes well built harmonies that blend really well with pop punk vibes and the trombone! But I would say my favourite part of the whole song is the strong bass (But who doesn’t love a good bit of bass) haha this song is definitely my favourite.

The last song I’d like to talk about is “One Way Ticket” this is because of the prominent use of vocal techniques which I found perplexing throught the whole song.

Overall I’d say this album will really put these guys names out there! Keep an eye on them they’re ones to watch out for! 10/10 would check out this album!

Listen here:

Check them out here

Instagram




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who Is The Real Star Of This Gig?

This King No-One gig was like no other! The first reason this gig was unique was the venue! KNO we’re touring the UK and this was by far the smallest venue they played 300cap at clwb Ifor bach whilst

bottom of page